The New York City Horror Film Festival Announces 2004 Winners and Festival Wrap-Up!
And the winners are:

2004 Lifetime Achievement Award — Mr. Tobe Hopper

Best Feature — The Last Horror Movie (Dir. Julian Richards)

Best Short — Herbie (Dir. Drew Barnhardt)

Best Cinematography — London Voodoo (Dir. Robert Pratten)

Best Actor — Kevin Howarth (The Last Horror Movie)

Best Special Effects — Cube Zero (Dir. Ernie Barbarash)

Best Screenplay — The Ghouls (Dir. Chad Ferrin)

Audience Choice — Unwelcome (Dir. Gentry Smith)

The 2004 New York City Horror Film Festival concluded on Sunday Oct. 27th. While we have been running this event for three years now, but each year feels like it is all new again. We work all year, bit-by-bit, film-by-film, and sponsor-by-sponsor; we strive for the best in everything we do because these filmmakers deserve no less. They have put their blood, sweat and tears into every frame of film, every second of tape and every waking hour of their time spent making their films the best it can be, so as filmmakers ourselves, we should do no less in our event to celebrate them.

Our sponsors help to make it all happen, so I would like to offer our warmest regards and thanks to them all. The Independent Film Channel, MTV Films, DracTour.com, Blue Underground, Customflix , Discmakers, Filmmaker’s Central School of Cinema, Gorilla Software, Video Scope Magazine, Hacker’s Source Magazine, Sub Rosa Studios. These brands truly stand up for the independent filmmaker!

To the guests that donated there time to help rise awareness of our event and the filmmakers, we are forever grateful. Felissa Rose, Bill Lustig, Joe Bob Briggs, Amanda Plummer, Michael Gingold (Fangoria), Adam Garish & Jace Anderson, Joe Kane (The Phantom of the Movies), Robyn Griggs, Alan Somers (Pure Arts Entertainment), Michael Grady (Dimension Films) Steven Mena (Malevolence) Jeff Lieberman, and the entire staff at Scream TV!!!

To Mr. Tobe Hooper, a true gentleman and class act all the way! Tobe took the time to speak with every filmmaker, every fan, signed every poster and gave one hell of a thank you speech. Thank you for making Saturday night so very special for everyone that attended and I cannot think of anyone more deserving of the award than you!

But, most of all, to all our filmmakers that traveled from near and far to be here with us, you are the reason it all happens. Each film shines on it’s own and we know your all going on to big things.

To Ronnie, Camille and our staff, you are truly the backbone; Anthony and I could not get it all done without you.

Last, but not least, to you the fans. Without you, there would not be a festival at all. Thank you, thank you, and thank you!

See you all next year!

Michael J. Hein
Festival Director









NYC Horror Film Festival
PO Box 8582
86 Broadway
Woodcliff Lake, NJ 07677




© 2017 NYC Horror Film Festival | Design by Tracy Farnsworth